Released June 1979
Format Vinyl
Type Studio Album
Genre Folk Rock
Length 54:42
Number of discs 1
Edition date June 1979
Country U.K.
Label Untied Artists Records
Catalog Number UAK 30238


Night Owl is a 1979 album by Gerry Rafferty. It was released a year after Rafferty's Platinum-selling album City to City.

While not quite performing as well as its predecessor, Night Owl still managed enough sales to achieve Gold status in North America and the United Kingdom. The title song reached No. 5 on the UK charts. The album made the UK Top 10.

The album was recorded at Chipping Norton Recording Studios, Chipping Norton, England.

Gerry Rafferty – vocals, acoustic guitar, polymoog, piano
John Kirkpatrick – accordion
Richard Thompson – guitar, mandolin
Barbara Dickson – background vocals
Richard Harvey – organ, synthesiser, recorder, penny whistle
Richard Brunton – guitar
Hugh Burns – guitar
Betsy Cook – background vocals
Tommy Eyre – synthesiser, piano
Liam Genockey – drums
Graham Preskett – violin, fiddle, mandolin, piano
Raphael Ravenscroft – saxophone, lyricon
Frank Ricotti – percussion
Linda Thompson – background vocals
Pete Wingfield – organ
Gary Taylor – bass, vocals
Patrick (John Byrne) – Front cover painting

Hits 6965
City To City « City To City Gerry Rafferty Vinyl Chronology Snakes And Ladders » Snakes And Ladders